Carmarthen – Cardiff team news

Cardiff RFC travel to Carmarthen Park on Saturday for their final friendly before the Indigo Cup starts next week.

‘This will be a tough challenge against strong Premiership opposition. Before the COVID break the Quins were second in the league, and the last time we visited the Parc we were second best. It’s certainly a performance I won’t forget and hope the players who were there remember that on that day we did not reach the high standards we set ourselves.” commented Steve Law “The squad have been working hard over the last few weeks and this game will show us how far we have come. We have a few changes from our game against London Welsh and this gives opportunity for us to look at all the options we have available to us”.

Morgan Allen captains the side from No8 where he is joined by Gwilym Bradley and Alex Everett. Rory Bartle and Sean Moore form a new second row partnership with Thomas Davies and Llyr Green surrounding Iestyn Harris at hooker.

Ethan Lloyd, the Wales Under 20s scrum half partners Jack Maynard at half back with the rest of the back line being made up of the players that appeared at the Arms Park two weeks ago. Exciting full back Jacob Beetham is joined by Barney Nightingale and James Beal in the back three, with Ryan Wilkins and Tom Hoppe in the centre.

Player coach Dan Fish is named amongst the replacements as is Jake Thomas who scored four times on his debut last time out. Wales U18 second row Rhys Anstey, who has been training with the senior side, will mark his Blue & Black debut should he come off the bench as will Sam Moore who is working his way back from injury and looking to impress his credentials with Cardiff Rugby. Again, Cardiff RFC are grateful to Bedwas for the permit of Rory Harries.

Cardiff ( vs Carmarthen)

  1. Thomas Davies
  2. Iestyn Harris
  3. Llyr Green
  4. Sean Moore
  5. Rory Bartle
  6. Alex Everett
  7. Gwilym Bradley
  8. Morgan Allen (Capt)
  9. Ethan Lloyd
  10. Jack Maynard
  11. Barney Nightingale
  12. Ryan Wilkins
  13. Tom Hoppe
  14. James Beal
  15. Jacob Beetham


  1. Ollie Drake
  2. Alun Rees
  3. Theo Bevacqua
  4. Rhys Anstey
  5. James Richards
  6. Evan Lloyd
  7. Sam Moore
  8. Rory Harries
  9. Dan Fish
  10. Dafydd Smith
  11. Jake Thomas
Cardiff 1 1 0 0 60 5 5
Ebbw Vale 1 1 0 0 26 24 4
Pontypridd 1 1 0 0 19 16 4
Merthyr 1 0 0 1 24 26 1
Newport 1 0 0 1 16 19 1
RGC 1404 1 0 0 1 5 60 0